Taxonomy Code 101Y00000X

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code101Y00000X
Grouping:Behavioral Health & Social Service Providers
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:A provider who is trained and educated in the performance of behavior health services through interpersonal communications and analysis. Training and education at the specialty level usually requires a master's degree and clinical experience and supervision for licensure or certification.
Notes:Sources: Abridged from definitions provided by the National Board of Certified Counselors and the American Association of Pastoral Counselors.
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 24.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2024
Code Navigator:
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
77% Female
23% Male
100% Individual Providers (122949)0% Medical Organizations (8,502)77% Female Providers (94725)23% Male Providers (28224)

The code 101Y00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for counselor grouped under behavioral health & social service providers. NPI records indicate a total of 131,451 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is counselor of which 94,725 are registered as females, 28,224 registered as males and 8,502 are organizations.

101Y00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers