Taxonomy Code 152W00000X

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Eye and Vision Services Providers
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:Doctors of optometry (ODs) are the primary health care professionals for the eye. Optometrists examine, diagnose, treat, and manage diseases, injuries, and disorders of the visual system, the eye, and associated structures as well as identify related systemic conditions affecting the eye. An optometrist has completed pre-professional undergraduate education in a college or university and four years of professional education at a college of optometry, leading to the doctor of optometry (O.D.) degree. Some optometrists complete an optional residency in a specific area of practice. Optometrists are eye health care professionals state-licensed to diagnose and treat diseases and disorders of the eye and visual system.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
41 - Optometry
Notes:Source: American Optometric Association (AOA), approved by the AOA's Board of Trustees, June 21, 2005. [7/1/2006: definition modified]
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
49% Female
51% Male
100% Individual Providers (66891)0% Medical Organizations (34,205)49% Female Providers (32637)51% Male Providers (34254)

The code 152W00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for optometrist grouped under eye and vision services providers. NPI records indicate a total of 101,096 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is optometrist of which 32,637 are registered as females, 34,254 registered as males and 34,205 are organizations.

152W00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
152WC0802XOptometristCorneal and Contact Management
152WL0500XOptometristLow Vision Rehabilitation
152WS0006XOptometristSports Vision
152WV0400XOptometristVision Therapy
152WX0102XOptometristOccupational Vision

Optometrist Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit