207WX0107X Taxonomy Code - Ophthalmology Retina Specialist



SpecializationRetina Specialist
GroupingAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionAn ophthalmologist who specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of vitreoretinal diseases.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
18 - Physician/Ophthalmology
NotesSource: American Society of Retina Specialists, www.asrs.org [1/1/2017: new]

Additional Resources: American Academy of Ophthalmology, www.aao.org. Macula Society, www.maculasociety.org. Retina Society, www.retinasociety.org. Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology, www.aupo.org.
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 207WX0107X is the health care provider taxonomy code for ophthalmology grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in retina specialist. NPI records indicate a total of 2,277 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is retina specialist of which 326 are registered as females, 1,610 registered as males and 341 are organizations.

207WX0107X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org