Health Care Provider Taxonomy Codes
Version 24.0 - Last Updated on: January 01, 2024

Healthcare provider taxonomy codes are unique, ten-character alphanumeric identifiers. These codes are organized into three distinct levels: Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. This hierarchical structure allows for navigation from a general classification down to the provider's most specific area of expertise. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

It's important to note that healthcare providers self-select their taxonomy codes, which represent their specialty based on their level of education and training. However, these codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the provider, they merely categorize their area of expertise.

Taxonomy Codes Levels

Taxonomy Code Levels

  1. Level I - Provider Grouping
    This is the root level of the taxonomy code set and encompasses the primary categories of services and occupations for healthcare providers. It provides a broad overview of the types of healthcare services and professions available.
  2. Level II - Classification
    As the second level of the taxonomy code set, the Classification provides a more precise categorization, detailing the specific service or occupation of the healthcare provider. It narrows down the broad categories found in Level I.
  3. Level III - Area of Specialization
    This final level of the taxonomy code set details the precise services rendered by the healthcare provider, providing the most specific categorization. For instance, all Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians with subspecialty certificates issued by national boards will locate their specific taxonomy code at this level.

This structured approach ensures a clear, navigable taxonomy that facilitates accurate identification and classification of healthcare providers and their services.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) is responsible for maintaining the taxonomy code set. The codes are updated twice a year — on January 1st and July 1st. However, these updates become effective on different dates: the January update comes into effect on the following April 1st, whereas the July update becomes effective on October 1st of the same year. The current version of the taxonomy code set is Version 24.0 and was last updated on January 01, 2024.

Level II Taxonomy Codes

Agencies 15

A non-facility provider that renders outpatient outreach services that are not provided at a specific location. The licensure or registration is assigned to the agency rather than to the individual practitioners as would be the case in a group practice.

Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians 231

A broad category grouping of state licensed providers in allopathic or osteopathic medicine whose scope of practice is determined by education.

Ambulatory Health Care Facilities 63

A facility or distinct part of one that provides services on an outpatient basis in a fixed location or specifically designed mobile unit. An Ambulatory Care Facility does not provide overnight accommodations.

Chiropractic Providers 12

A provider qualified by a Doctor of Chiropractic (D.C.), licensed by the State and who practices chiropractic medicine -that discipline within the healing arts which deals with the nervous system and its relationship to the spinal column and its interrelationship with other body systems.

Dental Providers 20

A broad category to identify practitioners who render services related the practice of dentistry. Dentistry is defined as the evaluation, diagnosis, prevention and/or treatment (nonsurgical, surgical or related procedures) of diseases, disorders and/or conditions of the oral cavity, maxillofacial area and/or the adjacent and associated structures and their impact on the human body; provided by a dentist, within the scope of his/her education, training and experience, in accordance with the ethics of the profession and applicable law.

Emergency Medical Service Providers 4

A broad category for individuals who complete additional training and education in the area of pre-hospital emergency services and are licensed and/or practice within the scope of that training.

Group 2

A business entity under which one or more individuals practice. A group does not require multiple professional providers. A single provider group is a valid group and would be identified by the business entity name.

Hospital Units 5

A distinct part of a general acute care hospital. The distinctness of a unit is determined by characteristics such as the following: the unit has admission and discharge records that are separately identified from those of the hospital; the hospital has policies specifying that necessary clinical information is transferred to the unit when a patient of the hospital is transferred to the unit; the hospital's utilization review plan includes separate standards for the type of care offered in the unit; the beds assigned to the unit are physically separate from beds not included in the unit; the unit is treated as a separate cost center for cost reporting, funding and apportionment purposes.

Laboratories 4

A room or building equipped for scientific experimentation, research, testing, or clinical studies of materials, fluids, or tissues obtained from patients.

Nursing Service Providers 59

Providers who are trained and educated to perform services in health promotion, disease prevention, acute and chronic care, and restoration of health, and health maintenance across the life span.

Nursing Service Related Providers 13

Providers who are trained and educated to perform and administer services related to health promotion, disease prevention, acute and chronic care, spiritual guidance and comfort for healing and health, restoration of health and health maintenance across the life span.

Physician Assistants & Advanced Practice Nursing Providers 58

A broad grouping of providers who are: 1) trained, educated, and certified to perform basic medical and minor surgical services (or to assist the physician in performance of more complex services) under general physician supervision; and 2) trained, educated at a post-graduate level, and certified to perform autonomous and specialized roles as nurse practitioners, midwives, nurse anesthetists, or clinical nurse specialists.

Residential Treatment Facilities 8

Live in facilities where patients or clients, who because of their physical, mental, or emotional condition, are not able to live independently, and who receive treatment appropriate to their particular needs in a less restrictive environment than an inpatient facility. For example, an RTC may provide educational training and therapy for children with emotional disturbances or continuing care and therapy for people with severe mental handicaps.

Respiratory, Developmental, Rehabilitative And Restorative Service Providers 82

A provider who is trained and educated to perform services related to respiratory care, physical therapy, occupational therapy, developmental therapy, rehabilitation and restorative services and may be licensed, certified or practice within the scope of training.

Respite Care Facility 5

A facility with dorm rooms where individuals who are unable to care for themselves may stay on a short term basis overnight to allow relief to persons normally providing care to them.

Technologists, Technicians & Other Technical Service Providers 65

A broad category grouping providers who apply scientific knowledge in solving practical or theoretical problems or applies technical procedures in accordance with their training and experience.

For additional information visit