Taxonomy Code 208600000X

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:A general surgeon has expertise related to the diagnosis - preoperative, operative and postoperative management - and management of complications of surgical conditions in the following areas: alimentary tract; abdomen; breast, skin and soft tissue; endocrine system; head and neck surgery; pediatric surgery; surgical critical care; surgical oncology; trauma and burns; and vascular surgery. General surgeons increasingly provide care through the use of minimally invasive and endoscopic techniques. Many general surgeons also possess expertise in transplantation surgery, plastic surgery and cardiothoracic surgery.
Notes:Source: American Board of Medical Specialties, 2007. [7/1/2007: definition added, source added; 7/1/2011: modified source]

Additional Resources: American Board of Surgery, 2007. American Osteopathic Board of Surgery, 2007.

Board certification for Medical Doctors (MDs) is provided by the American Board of Surgery. Board certification for Doctors of Osteopathy (DOs) is provided by the American Osteopathic Board of Surgery.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
26% Female
74% Male
100% Individual Providers (47636)0% Medical Organizations (13,425)26% Female Providers (12306)74% Male Providers (35330)

The code 208600000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for surgery grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians. NPI records indicate a total of 61,061 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is surgery of which 12,306 are registered as females, 35,330 registered as males and 13,425 are organizations.

208600000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
2086H0002XSurgeryHospice and Palliative Medicine
2086S0102XSurgerySurgical Critical Care
2086S0105XSurgerySurgery of the Hand
2086S0120XSurgeryPediatric Surgery
2086S0122XSurgeryPlastic and Reconstructive Surgery
2086S0127XSurgeryTrauma Surgery
2086S0129XSurgeryVascular Surgery
2086X0206XSurgerySurgical Oncology

Surgery Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit