Taxonomy Code 2086S0129X
Surgery Vascular Surgery

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Specialization:Vascular Surgery
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:A surgeon with expertise in the management of surgical disorders of the blood vessels, excluding the intracranial vessels or the heart.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
77 - Physician/Vascular Surgery
Notes:Source: American Board of Medical Specialties, 2007. [7/1/2007: definition added, source added; 7/1/2011: modified source]

Additional Resources: American Board of Surgery, 2007. American Osteopathic Board of Surgery, 2007.

Board certification for Medical Doctors (MDs) is provided by the American Board of Surgery. Board certification for Doctors of Osteopathy (DOs) is provided by the American Osteopathic Board of Surgery.
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 23.1
Last Updated:July 31, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
15% Female
85% Male
100% Individual Providers (7063)0% Medical Organizations (3,046)15% Female Providers (1070)85% Male Providers (5993)

The code 2086S0129X is the health care provider taxonomy code for surgery grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in vascular surgery. NPI records indicate a total of 10,109 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is vascular surgery of which 1,070 are registered as females, 5,993 registered as males and 3,046 are organizations.

2086S0129X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
2086H0002XSurgeryHospice and Palliative Medicine
2086S0102XSurgerySurgical Critical Care
2086S0105XSurgerySurgery of the Hand
2086S0120XSurgeryPediatric Surgery
2086S0122XSurgeryPlastic and Reconstructive Surgery
2086S0127XSurgeryTrauma Surgery
2086X0206XSurgerySurgical Oncology

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit