2086X0206X Taxonomy Code - Surgery Surgical Oncology



SpecializationSurgical Oncology
GroupingAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionA surgical oncologist is a well-qualified surgeon who has obtained additional training and experience in the multidisciplinary approach to the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of cancer patients, and devotes a major portion of his or her professional practice to these activities and cancer research.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
91 - Physician/Surgical Oncology
NotesSource: Society of Surgical Oncology, 2007 [1/1/2008: definition added, source added, 7/1/2009: definiition reformatted] Additional Resources: http://www.surgonc.org/ ; American Board of Medical Specialties, 2007, www.abms.org ; American Board of Surgery, 2007, http://www.absurgery.org/ Surgical oncology is a recognized fellowship subspecialty program of surgery. Separate board certification is not currently offered.
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 2086X0206X is the health care provider taxonomy code for surgery grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in surgical oncology. NPI records indicate a total of 2,917 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is surgical oncology of which 863 are registered as females, 1,470 registered as males and 584 are organizations.

2086X0206X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org