207NS0135X Taxonomy Code - Dermatology Procedural Dermatology



SpecializationProcedural Dermatology
GroupingAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionProcedural Dermatology, a subspecialty of Dermatology, encompassing a wide variety of surgical procedures and methods to remove or modify skin tissue for health or cosmetic benefit. These methods include scalpel surgery, laser surgery, chemical surgery, cryosurgery (liquid nitrogen), electrosurgery, aspiration surgery, liposuction, injection of filler substances, and Mohs micrographic controlled surgery (a special technique for the removal of growths, especially skin cancers).
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
07 - Physician/Dermatology
NotesSource: American Board of Dermatology, 2007, www.abderm.org [1/1/2008: definition added, source added, title changed] Additional Resources: Some ABMS board certified dermatologists have completed a one-year ACGME approved fellowship in Procedural Dermatology, which has been offered since 2003. At this time the ABD does not offer subspecialty certification in Procedural Dermatology.
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 20.1 - July 2020

The code 207NS0135X is the health care provider taxonomy code for dermatology grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in procedural dermatology. NPI records indicate a total of 2,759 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is procedural dermatology of which 644 are registered as females, 1,188 registered as males and 927 are organizations.

207NS0135X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org