305S00000X Taxonomy Code - Point of Service



ClassificationPoint of Service
GroupingManaged Care Organizations
LevelLevel II - Classification
DefinitionThis product may also be called an open-ended HMO and offers a transition product incorporating features of both HMOs and PPOs. Beneficiaries are enrolled in an HMO but have the option to go outside the networks for an additional cost.
NotesSource: Glossary of terms used in managed care Developed by the Managed Care Assembly (MCA) of Medical Group Management Association (MGMA), MGM Journal, September/October 1995, p. 62
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 305S00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for point of service grouped under managed care organizations. NPI records indicate a total of 3,074 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is point of service of which 146 are registered as females, 62 registered as males and 2,866 are organizations.

305S00000X is a level II taxonomy code "classification" used to specify a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org