Taxonomy Code 305R00000X
Preferred Provider Organization

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Managed Care Organizations
Classification:Preferred Provider Organization
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:A group of physicians and/or hospitals who contract with an employer to provide services to their employees. In a PPO, the patient may got to the physician of his/her choice, even if that physician does not participate in the PPO, but the patient receives care at a lower benefit level.
Notes:Source: Glossary of terms used in managed care Developed by the Managed Care Assembly (MCA) of Medical Group Management Association (MGMA), MGM Journal, September/ October 1995, p. 62
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1
Last Updated:July 01, 2022
99% Individuals
1% Organizations
67% Female
32% Male
99% Individual Providers (209)1% Medical Organizations (3,411)67% Female Providers (141)32% Male Providers (68)

The code 305R00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for preferred provider organization grouped under managed care organizations. NPI records indicate a total of 3,620 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is preferred provider organization of which 141 are registered as females, 68 registered as males and 3,411 are organizations.

305R00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
302F00000XExclusive Provider Organization
302R00000XHealth Maintenance Organization
305S00000XPoint of Service

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit