Taxonomy Code 103TH0100X
Psychologist Health Service

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Behavioral Health & Social Service Providers
Specialization:Health Service
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:A psychologist, certified/licensed at the independent practice level in his/her state, who is duly trained and experienced in the delivery of direct, preventative, assessment, and therapeutic intervention services to individuals whose growth, adjustment, or functioning is actually impaired or is demonstrably at high risk of impairment (1974).
Notes:Source: National Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology website [7/1/2006: modified title, added definition]
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
82% Individuals
18% Organizations
51% Female
31% Male
82% Individual Providers (1726)18% Medical Organizations (385)51% Female Providers (1067)31% Male Providers (659)

The code 103TH0100X is the health care provider taxonomy code for psychologist grouped under behavioral health & social service providers with a specialization in health service. NPI records indicate a total of 2,111 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is health service of which 1,067 are registered as females, 659 registered as males and 385 are organizations.

103TH0100X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Behavioral Health & Social Service Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
103TA0400XPsychologistAddiction (Substance Use Disorder)
103TA0700XPsychologistAdult Development & Aging
103TB0200XPsychologistCognitive & Behavioral
103TC2200XPsychologistClinical Child & Adolescent
103TE1100XPsychologistExercise & Sports
103TM1700XPsychologistMen & Masculinity
103TM1800XPsychologistIntellectual and Developmental Disabilities
103TP0016XPsychologistPrescribing (Medical)
103TP2701XPsychologistGroup Psychotherapy

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit