Taxonomy Code 207LP2900X
Anesthesiology Pain Medicine

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code207LP2900X
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Specialization:Pain Medicine
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:An anesthesiologist who provides a high level of care, either as a primary physician or consultant, for patients experiencing problems with acute, chronic and/or cancer pain in both hospital and ambulatory settings. Patient care needs are also coordinated with other specialists.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
05 - Physician/Anesthesiology
Notes:Source: American Board of Medical Specialties, 2007. [7/1/2007: added definition, added source; 7/1/2011: modified source]

Additional Resources: American Board of Anesthesiology, 2007.; American Osteopathic Board of Anesthesiology, 2007,

Board certification for Medical Doctors (MDs) is provided by the American Board of Anesthesiology. Board certification for Doctors of Osteopathy (DOs) is provided by the American Osteopathic Board of Anesthesiology.
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 24.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2024
Code Navigator:
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
19% Female
81% Male
100% Individual Providers (8539)0% Medical Organizations (5,136)19% Female Providers (1634)81% Male Providers (6905)

The code 207LP2900X is the health care provider taxonomy code for anesthesiology grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in pain medicine. NPI records indicate a total of 13,675 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is pain medicine of which 1,634 are registered as females, 6,905 registered as males and 5,136 are organizations.

207LP2900X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers