Taxonomy Code 1041C0700X
Social Worker Clinical

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code1041C0700X
Grouping:Behavioral Health & Social Service Providers
Classification:Social Worker
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:A social worker who holds a master's or doctoral degree in social work from an accredited school of social work in addition to at least two years of post-master's supervised experience in a clinical setting. The social worker must be licensed, certified, or registered at the clinical level in the jurisdiction of practice. A clinical social worker provides direct services, including interventions focused on interpersonal interactions, intrapsychic dynamics, and life management issues. Clinical social work services are based on bio-psychosocial perspectives. Services consist of assessment, diagnosis, treatment (including psychotherapy and counseling), client-centered advocacy, consultation, evaluation, and prevention of mental illness, emotional, or behavioral disturbances.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
80 - Licensed Clinical Social Worker
Notes:Source: National Association of Social Workers, 2008 [7/1/2009: definition modified]
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 24.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2024
Code Navigator:
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
84% Female
16% Male
100% Individual Providers (288942)0% Medical Organizations (35,739)84% Female Providers (241738)16% Male Providers (47204)

The code 1041C0700X is the health care provider taxonomy code for social worker grouped under behavioral health & social service providers with a specialization in clinical. NPI records indicate a total of 324,681 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is clinical of which 241,738 are registered as females, 47,204 registered as males and 35,739 are organizations.

1041C0700X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Behavioral Health & Social Service Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
104100000XSocial Worker
1041S0200XSocial WorkerSchool

Clinical Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit