Taxonomy Code 313M00000X
Nursing Facility/Intermediate Care Facility

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Nursing & Custodial Care Facilities
Classification:Nursing Facility/Intermediate Care Facility
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:An institution (or a distinct part of an institution) which- (1) is primarily engaged in providing to residents- (A) skilled nursing care and related services for residents who require medical or nursing care, (B) rehabilitation services for the rehabilitation of injured, disabled, or sick persons, or, on a regular basis, health-related care and services to individuals who because of their mental or physical condition require care and services (above the level of room and board) which can be made available to them only through institutional facilities, and is not primarily for the care and treatment of mental diseases; (2) has in effect a transfer agreement with one or more hospitals.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
A3 - Other Nursing Facility
Notes:Source: Paraphrased from Section 1919 (a) of the Social Security Act.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
98% Individuals
2% Organizations
73% Female
25% Male
98% Individual Providers (169)2% Medical Organizations (3,763)73% Female Providers (126)25% Male Providers (43)

The code 313M00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for nursing facility/intermediate care facility grouped under nursing & custodial care facilities. NPI records indicate a total of 3,932 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is nursing facility/intermediate care facility of which 126 are registered as females, 43 registered as males and 3,763 are organizations.

313M00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
310400000XAssisted Living Facility
3104A0625XAssisted Living FacilityAssisted Living, Mental Illness
3104A0630XAssisted Living FacilityAssisted Living, Behavioral Disturbances
310500000XIntermediate Care Facility, Mental Illness
311500000XAlzheimer Center (Dementia Center)
311Z00000XCustodial Care Facility
311ZA0620XCustodial Care FacilityAdult Care Home
314000000XSkilled Nursing Facility
3140N1450XSkilled Nursing FacilityNursing Care, Pediatric
315D00000XHospice, Inpatient
315P00000XIntermediate Care Facility, Intellectual Disabilities
317400000XChristian Science Facility

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit