235Z00000X Taxonomy Code - Speech-Language Pathologist



ClassificationSpeech-Language Pathologist
GroupingSpeech, Language and Hearing Service Providers
LevelLevel II - Classification
DefinitionThe speech-language pathologist is the professional who engages in clinical services, prevention, advocacy, education, administration, and research in the areas of communication and swallowing across the life span from infancy through geriatrics. Speech-language pathologists address typical and atypical impairments and disorders related to communication and swallowing in the areas of speech sound production, resonance, voice, fluency, language (comprehension and expression), cognition, and feeding and swallowing.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
15 - Speech Language Pathologist
NotesScope of Practice in Speech-Language Pathology, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, 2013.
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1 - January 2021

The code 235Z00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for speech-language pathologist grouped under speech, language and hearing service providers. NPI records indicate a total of 186,722 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is speech-language pathologist of which 162,600 are registered as females, 6,488 registered as males and 17,634 are organizations.

235Z00000X is a level II taxonomy code "classification" used to specify a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

Speech-Language Pathologist Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org