Taxonomy Code 1223X0400X
Dentist Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Dental Providers
Specialization:Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:That area of dentistry concerned with the supervision, guidance and correction of the growing or mature dentofacial structures, including those conditions that require movement of teeth or correction of malrelationships and malformations of their related structures and the adjustment of relationships between and among teeth and facial bones by the application of forces and/or the stimulation and redirection of functional forces within the craniofacial complex. Major responsibilities of orthodontic practice include the diagnosis, prevention, interception and treatment of all forms of malocclusion of the teeth and associated alterations in their surrounding structures; the design, application and control of functional and corrective appliances; and the guidance of the dentition and its supporting structures to attain and maintain optimum occlusal relations in physiologic and esthetic harmony among facial and cranial structures.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
29% Female
71% Male
100% Individual Providers (14103)0% Medical Organizations (8,072)29% Female Providers (4037)71% Male Providers (10066)

The code 1223X0400X is the health care provider taxonomy code for dentist grouped under dental providers with a specialization in orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics. NPI records indicate a total of 22,175 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics of which 4,037 are registered as females, 10,066 registered as males and 8,072 are organizations.

1223X0400X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Dental Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
1223D0001XDentistDental Public Health
1223D0004XDentistDentist Anesthesiologist
1223G0001XDentistGeneral Practice
1223P0106XDentistOral and Maxillofacial Pathology
1223P0221XDentistPediatric Dentistry
1223S0112XDentistOral and Maxillofacial Surgery
1223X0008XDentistOral and Maxillofacial Radiology
1223X2210XDentistOrofacial Pain

Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit