Taxonomy Code 208M00000X

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:Hospitalists are physicians whose primary professional focus is the general medical care of hospitalized patients. Their activities include patient care, teaching, research, and leadership related to Hospital Medicine. The term 'hospitalist' refers to physicians whose practice emphasizes providing care for hospitalized patients.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
C6 - Physician/Hospitalist
Notes:Source: American Society of Hospital Medicine, 2007. [7/1/2009: definition aded] Additional Resources: Hospitalist is a recognized fellowship specialty program offered by many medical institutions. There is no board certification for the specialty at this point.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
40% Female
60% Male
100% Individual Providers (35409)0% Medical Organizations (4,293)40% Female Providers (14088)60% Male Providers (21321)

The code 208M00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for hospitalist grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians. NPI records indicate a total of 39,702 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is hospitalist of which 14,088 are registered as females, 21,321 registered as males and 4,293 are organizations.

208M00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
202C00000XIndependent Medical Examiner
202D00000XIntegrative Medicine
204C00000XNeuromusculoskeletal Medicine, Sports Medicine
204D00000XNeuromusculoskeletal Medicine & OMM
204E00000XOral & Maxillofacial Surgery
204F00000XTransplant Surgery
204R00000XElectrodiagnostic Medicine
207K00000XAllergy & Immunology
207KA0200XAllergy & ImmunologyAllergy
207KI0005XAllergy & ImmunologyClinical & Laboratory Immunology
207LA0401XAnesthesiologyAddiction Medicine
207LC0200XAnesthesiologyCritical Care Medicine
207LH0002XAnesthesiologyHospice and Palliative Medicine
207LP2900XAnesthesiologyPain Medicine
207LP3000XAnesthesiologyPediatric Anesthesiology
207ND0101XDermatologyMOHS-Micrographic Surgery

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit