Taxonomy Code 225X00000X
Occupational Therapist

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Respiratory, Developmental, Rehabilitative and Restorative Service Providers
Classification:Occupational Therapist
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:An occupational therapist is a person who has graduated from an entry-level occupational therapy program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE) or predecessor organizations, or approved by the World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT), or an equivalent international occupational therapy education program; has successfully completed a period of supervised fieldwork experience required by the occupational therapy program; has passed a nationally recognized entry-level examination for occupational therapists, and fulfills state requirements for licensure, certification, or registration. An occupational therapist provides interventions based on evaluation and which emphasize the therapeutic use of everyday life activities (i.e., occupations) with individuals or groups for the purpose of facilitating participation in roles and situations and in home, school, workplace, community and other settings. Occupational therapy services are provided for the purpose of promoting health and wellness and are provided to those who have or are at risk for developing an illness, injury, disease, disorder, condition, impairment, disability, activity limitation, or participation restriction. Occupational therapists address the physical, cognitive, psychosocial, sensory, and other aspects of occupational performance in a variety of contexts to support engagement in everyday life activities that affect health, well-being, and quality of life.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
67 - Occupational Therapist in Private Practice
Notes:Source: The Guide to Occupational Therapy Practice, 2nd edition. Bethesda: American Occupational Therapy Association, 2007. [7/1/2008: definition changed, added source]
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
90% Female
10% Male
100% Individual Providers (119643)0% Medical Organizations (14,942)90% Female Providers (107334)10% Male Providers (12309)

The code 225X00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for occupational therapist grouped under respiratory, developmental, rehabilitative and restorative service providers. NPI records indicate a total of 134,585 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is occupational therapist of which 107,334 are registered as females, 12,309 registered as males and 14,942 are organizations.

225X00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
225XE0001XOccupational TherapistEnvironmental Modification
225XE1200XOccupational TherapistErgonomics
225XF0002XOccupational TherapistFeeding, Eating & Swallowing
225XG0600XOccupational TherapistGerontology
225XH1200XOccupational TherapistHand
225XH1300XOccupational TherapistHuman Factors
225XL0004XOccupational TherapistLow Vision
225XM0800XOccupational TherapistMental Health
225XN1300XOccupational TherapistNeurorehabilitation
225XP0019XOccupational TherapistPhysical Rehabilitation
225XP0200XOccupational TherapistPediatrics
225XR0403XOccupational TherapistDriving and Community Mobility

Occupational Therapist Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit