175M00000X Taxonomy Code - Midwife, Lay



ClassificationMidwife, Lay
GroupingOther Service Providers
LevelLevel II - Classification
DefinitionA person qualified by experience and limited specialized training to provide obstetric and neo-natal care in the management of women having normal pregnancy, labor and childbirth. The lay midwife is licensed in some states.
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 175M00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for midwife, lay grouped under other service providers. NPI records indicate a total of 476 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is midwife, lay of which 429 are registered as females, 4 registered as males and 43 are organizations.

175M00000X is a level II taxonomy code "classification" used to specify a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org