Taxonomy Code 1710I1002X
Military Health Care Provider Independent Duty Corpsman

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Other Service Providers
Classification:Military Health Care Provider
Specialization:Independent Duty Corpsman
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:A Navy Independent Duty Corpsman (IDC) is an active duty Sailor who has successfully completed one of the Navy's specific IDC training programs. IDCs are formally trained and educated to perform primary medical care and minor surgical services in a variety of health care and non-health care settings worldwide under indirect physician supervision. IDCs provide care to Department of Defense operational forces and other supporting forces such as contractors and foreign nationals.
Notes:Source: Bureau of Medicine and Surgery, Department of the Navy [7/1/2005: new]
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 23.1
Last Updated:July 31, 2023
99% Individuals
1% Organizations
13% Female
87% Male
99% Individual Providers (3232)1% Medical Organizations (17)13% Female Providers (413)87% Male Providers (2819)

The code 1710I1002X is the health care provider taxonomy code for military health care provider grouped under other service providers with a specialization in independent duty corpsman. NPI records indicate a total of 3,249 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is independent duty corpsman of which 413 are registered as females, 2,819 registered as males and 17 are organizations.

1710I1002X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Other Service Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
171000000XMilitary Health Care Provider
1710I1003XMilitary Health Care ProviderIndependent Duty Medical Technicians

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit