311Z00000X Taxonomy Code - Custodial Care Facility



ClassificationCustodial Care Facility
GroupingNursing & Custodial Care Facilities
LevelLevel II - Classification
DefinitionA facility providing care that serves to assist an individual in the activities of daily living, such as assistance in walking, getting in and out of bed, bathing, dressing, feeding, and using the toilet, preparation of special diets, and supervision of medication that usually can be self-administered. Custodial care essentially is personal care that does not require the continuing attention of trained medical or paramedical personnel.
NotesSource: Paraphrased from Section 3159 A3 of the Medicare Intermediary Manual.
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 311Z00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for custodial care facility grouped under nursing & custodial care facilities. NPI records indicate a total of 1,314 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is custodial care facility of which 78 are registered as females, 26 registered as males and 1,210 are organizations.

311Z00000X is a level II taxonomy code "classification" used to specify a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org