Taxonomy Code 207W00000X

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:An ophthalmologist has the knowledge and professional skills needed to provide comprehensive eye and vision care. Ophthalmologists are medically trained to diagnose, monitor and medically or surgically treat all ocular and visual disorders. This includes problems affecting the eye and its component structures, the eyelids, the orbit and the visual pathways. In so doing, an ophthalmologist prescribes vision services, including glasses and contact lenses.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
18 - Physician/Ophthalmology
Notes:Source: American Board of Medical Specialties, 2007. [7/1/2007: definiton added, source added; 7/1/2011: modified source]

Additional Resources: American Board of Ophthalmology, 2007. American Osteopathic Board of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology, 2007.

Board certification for Medical Doctors (MDs) is provided by the American Board of Ophthalmology. Board certification for Doctors of Osteopathy (DOs) is provided by the American Osteopathic Board of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
27% Female
73% Male
100% Individual Providers (28807)0% Medical Organizations (11,445)27% Female Providers (7891)73% Male Providers (20916)

The code 207W00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for ophthalmology grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians. NPI records indicate a total of 40,252 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is ophthalmology of which 7,891 are registered as females, 20,916 registered as males and 11,445 are organizations.

207W00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
207WX0009XOphthalmologyGlaucoma Specialist
207WX0107XOphthalmologyRetina Specialist
207WX0108XOphthalmologyUveitis and Ocular Inflammatory Disease
207WX0110XOphthalmologyPediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Specialist
207WX0120XOphthalmologyCornea and External Diseases Specialist
207WX0200XOphthalmologyOphthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit