126800000X Taxonomy Code - Dental Assistant



ClassificationDental Assistant
GroupingDental Providers
LevelLevel II - Classification
DefinitionAn individual who may or may not have completed an accredited dental assisting education program and who aids the dentist in providing patient care services and performs other nonclinical duties in the dental office or other patient care facility. The scope of the patient care functions that may be legally delegated to the dental assistant varies based on the needs of the dentist the educational preparation of the dental assistant and state dental practice acts and regulations. Patient care services are provided under the supervision of a dentist. To avoid misleading the public, no occupational title other than dental assistant should be used to describe this dental auxiliary.
NotesSource: Comprehensive Policy Statement on Dental Auxiliaries, American Dental Association
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 126800000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for dental assistant grouped under dental providers. NPI records indicate a total of 2,766 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is dental assistant of which 2,115 are registered as females, 381 registered as males and 270 are organizations.

126800000X is a level II taxonomy code "classification" used to specify a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org