Taxonomy Code 207V00000X
Obstetrics & Gynecology

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Classification:Obstetrics & Gynecology
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:An obstetrician/gynecologist possesses special knowledge, skills and professional capability in the medical and surgical care of the female reproductive system and associated disorders. This physician serves as a consultant to other physicians and as a primary physician for women.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
16 - Physician/Obstetrics & Gynecology
Notes:Source: American Board of Medical Specialties, 2007. [7/1/2007: definiton added, source added; 7/1/2011: modified source]

Additional Resources: American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 2007. American Osteopathic Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 2007.

Board certification for Medical Doctors (MDs) is provided by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Board certification for Doctors of Osteopathy (DOs) is provided by the American Osteopathic Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
62% Female
38% Male
100% Individual Providers (53704)0% Medical Organizations (15,286)62% Female Providers (33299)38% Male Providers (20405)

The code 207V00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for obstetrics & gynecology grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians. NPI records indicate a total of 68,990 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is obstetrics & gynecology of which 33,299 are registered as females, 20,405 registered as males and 15,286 are organizations.

207V00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
207VB0002XObstetrics & GynecologyObesity Medicine
207VC0200XObstetrics & GynecologyCritical Care Medicine
207VC0300XObstetrics & GynecologyComplex Family Planning
207VE0102XObstetrics & GynecologyReproductive Endocrinology
207VF0040XObstetrics & GynecologyFemale Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery
207VG0400XObstetrics & GynecologyGynecology
207VH0002XObstetrics & GynecologyHospice and Palliative Medicine
207VM0101XObstetrics & GynecologyMaternal & Fetal Medicine
207VX0000XObstetrics & GynecologyObstetrics
207VX0201XObstetrics & GynecologyGynecologic Oncology

Obstetrics & Gynecology Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit