Taxonomy Code 207RC0000X
Internal Medicine Cardiovascular Disease

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Classification:Internal Medicine
Specialization:Cardiovascular Disease
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:An internist who specializes in diseases of the heart and blood vessels and manages complex cardiac conditions such as heart attacks and life-threatening, abnormal heartbeat rhythms.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
11 - Physician/Internal Medicine
Notes:Source: American Osteopathic Board of Internal Medicine, 2008 [7/1/2008: added definition, added source; 7/1/2011: modified source]

Additional Resources: American Board of Internal Medicine, American Osteopathic Board of Internal Medicine,

Board certification for Medical Doctors (MDs) is provided by the American Board of Internal Medicine. Board certification for Doctors of Osteopathy (DOs) is provided by the American Osteopathic Board of Internal Medicine.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
16% Female
84% Male
100% Individual Providers (36759)0% Medical Organizations (11,903)16% Female Providers (5706)84% Male Providers (31053)

The code 207RC0000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for internal medicine grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in cardiovascular disease. NPI records indicate a total of 48,662 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is cardiovascular disease of which 5,706 are registered as females, 31,053 registered as males and 11,903 are organizations.

207RC0000X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
207R00000XInternal Medicine
207RA0000XInternal MedicineAdolescent Medicine
207RA0001XInternal MedicineAdvanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology
207RA0002XInternal MedicineAdult Congenital Heart Disease
207RA0201XInternal MedicineAllergy & Immunology
207RA0401XInternal MedicineAddiction Medicine
207RB0002XInternal MedicineObesity Medicine
207RC0001XInternal MedicineClinical Cardiac Electrophysiology
207RC0200XInternal MedicineCritical Care Medicine
207RE0101XInternal MedicineEndocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
207RG0100XInternal MedicineGastroenterology
207RG0300XInternal MedicineGeriatric Medicine
207RH0000XInternal MedicineHematology
207RH0002XInternal MedicineHospice and Palliative Medicine
207RH0003XInternal MedicineHematology & Oncology
207RH0005XInternal MedicineHypertension Specialist
207RI0001XInternal MedicineClinical & Laboratory Immunology
207RI0008XInternal MedicineHepatology
207RI0011XInternal MedicineInterventional Cardiology
207RI0200XInternal MedicineInfectious Disease
207RM1200XInternal MedicineMagnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)
207RN0300XInternal MedicineNephrology
207RP1001XInternal MedicinePulmonary Disease
207RR0500XInternal MedicineRheumatology
207RS0010XInternal MedicineSports Medicine
207RS0012XInternal MedicineSleep Medicine
207RT0003XInternal MedicineTransplant Hepatology
207RX0202XInternal MedicineMedical Oncology

Cardiovascular Disease Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit