363A00000X Taxonomy Code - Physician Assistant



ClassificationPhysician Assistant
GroupingPhysician Assistants & Advanced Practice Nursing Providers
LevelLevel II - Classification
DefinitionA physician assistant is a person who has successfully completed an accredited education program for physician assistant, is licensed by the state and is practicing within the scope of that license. Physician assistants are formally trained to perform many of the routine, time-consuming tasks a physician can do. In some states, they may prescribe medications. They take medical histories, perform physical exams, order lab tests and x-rays, and give inoculations. Most states require that they work under the supervision of a physician.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
97 - Physician Assistant
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1 - January 2021

The code 363A00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for physician assistant grouped under physician assistants & advanced practice nursing providers. NPI records indicate a total of 149,663 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is physician assistant of which 98,283 are registered as females, 42,650 registered as males and 8,730 are organizations.

363A00000X is a level II taxonomy code "classification" used to specify a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

Physician Assistant Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org