204E00000X Taxonomy Code - Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery



ClassificationOral & Maxillofacial Surgery
GroupingAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
LevelLevel II - Classification
DefinitionOral and maxillofacial surgeons are trained to recognize and treat a wide spectrum of diseases, injuries and defects in the head, neck, face, jaws and the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial region. They are also trained to administer anesthesia, and provide care in an office setting. They are trained to treat problems such as the extraction of wisdom teeth, misaligned jaws, tumors and cysts of the jaw and mouth, and to perform dental implant surgery.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
85 - Physician/Maxillofacial Surgery
NotesSource: American College of Surgeons, 2013. www.facs.org [7/1/2013: definition added, source added, additional resources added] Additional Resources: American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons While this is generally considered a specialty of dentistry, physicians can also be board certified as oral and maxillofacial surgeons through the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 20.1 - July 2020

The code 204E00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for oral & maxillofacial surgery grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians. NPI records indicate a total of 2,502 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is oral & maxillofacial surgery of which 205 are registered as females, 1,684 registered as males and 613 are organizations.

204E00000X is a level II taxonomy code "classification" used to specify a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org