204D00000X Taxonomy Code - Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine & OMM



ClassificationNeuromusculoskeletal Medicine & OMM
GroupingAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
LevelLevel II - Classification
DefinitionThe Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine and Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine physician directs special attention to the neuromusculoskeletal system and its interaction with other body systems. Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine and Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine encompasses increased knowledge and understanding of osteopathic principles and practice and heightened technical skills of osteopathic manipulative medicine, and integrates each of these into the management of pediatric, adolescent, adult, and geriatric patients.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
12 - Physician/Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine
NotesSource: American Osteopathic Association, 2017 [7/1/2017: added definition]

Additional Resources: American Osteopathic Board of Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine, 2017, http://www.osteopathic.org/certification
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 204D00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for neuromusculoskeletal medicine & omm grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians. NPI records indicate a total of 2,243 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is neuromusculoskeletal medicine & omm of which 527 are registered as females, 1,066 registered as males and 650 are organizations.

204D00000X is a level II taxonomy code "classification" used to specify a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org