Taxonomy Code 2086S0127X
Surgery Trauma Surgery

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code2086S0127X
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Specialization:Trauma Surgery
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:Trauma surgery is a recognized subspecialty of general surgery. Trauma surgeons are physicians who have completed a five-year general surgery residency and usually continue with a one to two year fellowship in trauma and/or surgical critical care, typically leading to additional board certification in surgical critical care. There is no trauma surgery board certification at this point. To obtain board certification in surgical critical care, a fellowship in surgical critical care or anesthesiology critical care must be completed during or after general surgery residency.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
02 - Physician/General Surgery
Notes:Source: American Board of Surgery, 2007 [1/1/2008: definition added, source added] Additional Resources:
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 23.1
Last Updated:July 31, 2023
Code Navigator:
83% Individuals
17% Organizations
23% Female
60% Male
83% Individual Providers (2474)17% Medical Organizations (518)23% Female Providers (681)60% Male Providers (1793)

The code 2086S0127X is the health care provider taxonomy code for surgery grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in trauma surgery. NPI records indicate a total of 2,992 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is trauma surgery of which 681 are registered as females, 1,793 registered as males and 518 are organizations.

2086S0127X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
2086H0002XSurgeryHospice and Palliative Medicine
2086S0102XSurgerySurgical Critical Care
2086S0105XSurgerySurgery of the Hand
2086S0120XSurgeryPediatric Surgery
2086S0122XSurgeryPlastic and Reconstructive Surgery
2086S0129XSurgeryVascular Surgery
2086X0206XSurgerySurgical Oncology

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit