3245S0500X Taxonomy Code - Substance Abuse Rehabilitation Facility Substance Abuse Treatment, Children



ClassificationSubstance Abuse Rehabilitation Facility
SpecializationSubstance Abuse Treatment, Children
GroupingResidential Treatment Facilities
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionA facility or distinct part of a facility that provides a 24 hr therapeutically planned living and rehabilitative intervention environment for the treatment of children with disorders in the use of drugs, alcohol, and other substances. Medical and supportive counseling services and education services are included.
Notes[7/1/2003: new]
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 3245S0500X is the health care provider taxonomy code for substance abuse rehabilitation facility grouped under residential treatment facilities with a specialization in substance abuse treatment, children. NPI records indicate a total of 1,110 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is substance abuse treatment, children of which 78 are registered as females, 40 registered as males and 992 are organizations.

3245S0500X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Residential Treatment Facilities providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org