1223D0004X Taxonomy Code - Dentist Dentist Anesthesiologist



SpecializationDentist Anesthesiologist
GroupingDental Providers
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionA dentist who has successfully completed an accredited postdoctoral anesthesiology residency training program for dentists of two or more years duration, in accord with Commission on Dental Accreditation's Standards for Dental Anesthesiology Residency Programs, and/or meets the eligibility requirements for examination by the American Dental Board of Anesthesiology.
NotesSource: The American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists [1/1/2013: new]
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 1223D0004X is the health care provider taxonomy code for dentist grouped under dental providers with a specialization in dentist anesthesiologist. NPI records indicate a total of 557 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is dentist anesthesiologist of which 92 are registered as females, 275 registered as males and 190 are organizations.

1223D0004X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Dental Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org