1223S0112X Taxonomy Code - Dentist Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery



SpecializationOral and Maxillofacial Surgery
GroupingDental Providers
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionThe specialty of dentistry which includes the diagnosis, surgical and adjunctive treatment of diseases, injuries and defects involving both the functional and esthetic aspects of the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial region.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
19 - Oral Surgery (Dentist only)
NotesSource: Council on Dental Education and Licensure, American Dental Association
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 1223S0112X is the health care provider taxonomy code for dentist grouped under dental providers with a specialization in oral and maxillofacial surgery. NPI records indicate a total of 14,812 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is oral and maxillofacial surgery of which 914 are registered as females, 8,729 registered as males and 5,169 are organizations.

1223S0112X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Dental Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org