Taxonomy Code 2085P0229X
Radiology Pediatric Radiology

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Specialization:Pediatric Radiology
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:A radiologist who is proficient in all forms of diagnostic imaging as it pertains to the treatment of diseases in the newborn, infant, child and adolescent. This specialist has knowledge of both imaging and interventional procedures related to the care and management of diseases of children. A pediatric radiologist must be highly knowledgeable of all organ systems as they relate to growth and development, congenital malformations, diseases peculiar to infants and children and diseases that begin in childhood but cause substantial residual impairment in adulthood.
Notes:Source: American Board of Medical Specialties, 2007. [7/1/2007: definition added, source added; 7/1/2011: modified source]

Additional Resources: American Board of Radiology, 2007. American Osteopathic Board of Radiology, 2007.

Board certification for Medical Doctors (MDs) is provided by the American Board of Radiology. Board certification for Doctors of Osteopathy (DOs) is provided by the American Osteopathic Board of Radiology.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
84% Individuals
16% Organizations
29% Female
55% Male
84% Individual Providers (2065)16% Medical Organizations (381)29% Female Providers (708)55% Male Providers (1357)

The code 2085P0229X is the health care provider taxonomy code for radiology grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in pediatric radiology. NPI records indicate a total of 2,446 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is pediatric radiology of which 708 are registered as females, 1,357 registered as males and 381 are organizations.

2085P0229X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
2085B0100XRadiologyBody Imaging
2085D0003XRadiologyDiagnostic Neuroimaging
2085H0002XRadiologyHospice and Palliative Medicine
2085N0904XRadiologyNuclear Radiology
2085R0001XRadiologyRadiation Oncology
2085R0202XRadiologyDiagnostic Radiology
2085R0203XRadiologyTherapeutic Radiology
2085R0204XRadiologyVascular & Interventional Radiology
2085R0205XRadiologyRadiological Physics
2085U0001XRadiologyDiagnostic Ultrasound

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit