Taxonomy Code 171100000X

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Other Service Providers
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:An acupuncturist is a person who performs ancient therapy for alleviation of pain, anesthesia and treatment of some diseases. Acupuncturists use long, fine needles inserted into specific points in order to treat painful conditions or produce anesthesia.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
66% Female
34% Male
100% Individual Providers (34211)0% Medical Organizations (10,153)66% Female Providers (22596)34% Male Providers (11615)

The code 171100000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for acupuncturist grouped under other service providers. NPI records indicate a total of 44,364 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is acupuncturist of which 22,596 are registered as females, 11,615 registered as males and 10,153 are organizations.

171100000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
170100000XMedical Genetics, Ph.D. Medical Genetics
170300000XGenetic Counselor, MS
171000000XMilitary Health Care Provider
1710I1002XMilitary Health Care ProviderIndependent Duty Corpsman
1710I1003XMilitary Health Care ProviderIndependent Duty Medical Technicians
171400000XHealth and Wellness Coach
171M00000XCase Manager/Care Coordinator
171WH0202XContractorHome Modifications
171WV0202XContractorVehicle Modifications
172V00000XCommunity Health Worker
173000000XLegal Medicine
173F00000XSleep Specialist, PhD

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit