Taxonomy Code 174400000X

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code174400000X
Grouping:Other Service Providers
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:An individual educated and trained in an applied knowledge discipline used in the performance of work at a level requiring knowledge and skills beyond or apart from that provided by a general education or liberal arts degree.
Notes:Source: Expanded from Webster's II New Riverside University Dictionary, Boston: Riverside Publishing Company, 1974.
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 23.1
Last Updated:July 31, 2023
Code Navigator:
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
61% Female
39% Male
100% Individual Providers (74918)0% Medical Organizations (31,305)61% Female Providers (45516)39% Male Providers (29402)

The code 174400000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for specialist grouped under other service providers. NPI records indicate a total of 106,223 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is specialist of which 45,516 are registered as females, 29,402 registered as males and 31,305 are organizations.

174400000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
1744G0900XSpecialistGraphics Designer
1744P3200XSpecialistProsthetics Case Management
1744R1102XSpecialistResearch Study
1744R1103XSpecialistResearch Data Abstracter/Coder

Specialist Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit