Taxonomy Code 2084S0012X
Psychiatry & Neurology Sleep Medicine

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
Classification:Psychiatry & Neurology
Specialization:Sleep Medicine
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:A Psychiatrist or Neurologist who practices Sleep Medicine is certified in the subspecialty of sleep medicine and specializes in the clinical assessment, physiologic testing, diagnosis, management and prevention of sleep and circadian rhythm disorders. Sleep specialists treat patients of any age and use multidisciplinary approaches. Disorders managed by sleep specialists include, but are not limited to, sleep related breathing disorders, insomnia, hypersomnias, circadian rhythm sleep disorders, parasomnias and sleep related movement disorders.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
C0 - Physician/Sleep Medicine
Notes:Source: American Academy of Sleep Medicine, [7/1/2006: new]
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1
Last Updated:July 01, 2022
68% Individuals
32% Organizations
21% Female
47% Male
68% Individual Providers (1046)32% Medical Organizations (493)21% Female Providers (328)47% Male Providers (718)

The code 2084S0012X is the health care provider taxonomy code for psychiatry & neurology grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in sleep medicine. NPI records indicate a total of 1,539 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is sleep medicine of which 328 are registered as females, 718 registered as males and 493 are organizations.

2084S0012X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
2084A0401XPsychiatry & NeurologyAddiction Medicine
2084A2900XPsychiatry & NeurologyNeurocritical Care
2084B0002XPsychiatry & NeurologyObesity Medicine
2084B0040XPsychiatry & NeurologyBehavioral Neurology & Neuropsychiatry
2084D0003XPsychiatry & NeurologyDiagnostic Neuroimaging
2084E0001XPsychiatry & NeurologyEpilepsy
2084F0202XPsychiatry & NeurologyForensic Psychiatry
2084H0002XPsychiatry & NeurologyHospice and Palliative Medicine
2084N0008XPsychiatry & NeurologyNeuromuscular Medicine
2084N0400XPsychiatry & NeurologyNeurology
2084N0402XPsychiatry & NeurologyNeurology with Special Qualifications in Child Neurology
2084N0600XPsychiatry & NeurologyClinical Neurophysiology
2084P0005XPsychiatry & NeurologyNeurodevelopmental Disabilities
2084P0015XPsychiatry & NeurologyPsychosomatic Medicine
2084P0301XPsychiatry & NeurologyBrain Injury Medicine
2084P0800XPsychiatry & NeurologyPsychiatry
2084P0802XPsychiatry & NeurologyAddiction Psychiatry
2084P0804XPsychiatry & NeurologyChild & Adolescent Psychiatry
2084P0805XPsychiatry & NeurologyGeriatric Psychiatry
2084P2900XPsychiatry & NeurologyPain Medicine
2084S0010XPsychiatry & NeurologySports Medicine
2084V0102XPsychiatry & NeurologyVascular Neurology

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit