Taxonomy Code 374U00000X
Home Health Aide

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Nursing Service Related Providers
Classification:Home Health Aide
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:A person trained to assist public health nurses, home health nurses, and other health professionals in the bedside care of patients in their homes.
Notes:Source: Rhea, Ott, and Shafritz, The Facts On File Dictionary of Health Care Management, New York: Facts On File Publications, 1988.
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1
Last Updated:July 01, 2022
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
81% Female
19% Male
100% Individual Providers (29847)0% Medical Organizations (2,371)81% Female Providers (24072)19% Male Providers (5775)

The code 374U00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for home health aide grouped under nursing service related providers. NPI records indicate a total of 32,218 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is home health aide of which 24,072 are registered as females, 5,775 registered as males and 2,371 are organizations.

374U00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
372500000XChore Provider
372600000XAdult Companion
373H00000XDay Training/Habilitation Specialist
3747A0650XTechnicianAttendant Care Provider
3747P1801XTechnicianPersonal Care Attendant
374K00000XReligious Nonmedical Practitioner
374T00000XReligious Nonmedical Nursing Personnel
376G00000XNursing Home Administrator
376K00000XNurse's Aide

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit