Taxonomy Code 156FX1100X
Technician/Technologist Ophthalmic

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Eye and Vision Services Providers
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:Not Available
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1
Last Updated:July 01, 2022
45% Individuals
55% Organizations
21% Female
24% Male
45% Individual Providers (170)55% Medical Organizations (204)21% Female Providers (80)24% Male Providers (90)

The code 156FX1100X is the health care provider taxonomy code for technician/technologist grouped under eye and vision services providers with a specialization in ophthalmic. NPI records indicate a total of 374 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is ophthalmic of which 80 are registered as females, 90 registered as males and 204 are organizations.

156FX1100X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Eye and Vision Services Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
156FC0800XTechnician/TechnologistContact Lens
156FC0801XTechnician/TechnologistContact Lens Fitter
156FX1101XTechnician/TechnologistOphthalmic Assistant
156FX1201XTechnician/TechnologistOptometric Assistant
156FX1202XTechnician/TechnologistOptometric Technician

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit