Taxonomy Code 2251S0007X
Physical Therapist Sports

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code2251S0007X
Grouping:Respiratory, Developmental, Rehabilitative and Restorative Service Providers
Classification:Physical Therapist
Code Level:Level III - Area of Specialization
Definition:A licensed physical therapist, including but not limited to an individual who is a Board Certified Specialist in Sports Physical Therapy, who has demonstrated specialized knowledge and skill in human anatomy and physiology, movement science, pathology and pathophysiology, medical and surgical intervention, and health and wellness, as well as rehabilitation/return to sports, management of acute injury/illness, medical and surgical consideration, injury prevention, and sports performance enhancement.
Medicare Specialty Code: Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
65 - Physical Therapist in Private Practice
Notes:Source: American Physical Therapy Association [1/1/2020: definition added] Additional resources:
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 24.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2024
Code Navigator:
76% Individuals
24% Organizations
31% Female
45% Male
76% Individual Providers (2104)24% Medical Organizations (677)31% Female Providers (852)45% Male Providers (1252)

The code 2251S0007X is the health care provider taxonomy code for physical therapist grouped under respiratory, developmental, rehabilitative and restorative service providers with a specialization in sports. NPI records indicate a total of 2,781 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is sports of which 852 are registered as females, 1,252 registered as males and 677 are organizations.

2251S0007X is a Level III - Area of Specialization taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Respiratory, Developmental, Rehabilitative and Restorative Service Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers