261QM2500X Taxonomy Code - Clinic/Center Medical Specialty



SpecializationMedical Specialty
GroupingAmbulatory Health Care Facilities
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionAn entity, facility, or distinct part of a facility providing diagnostic, treatment, and prescriptive services related to a specific area of medical specialization. Frequently used for Title V related Children's Specialty services or to meet specific public health needs (e.g., infectious diseases or breast and cervical cancer).
Notes[7/1/2003: new]
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1 - January 2021

The code 261QM2500X is the health care provider taxonomy code for clinic/center grouped under ambulatory health care facilities with a specialization in medical specialty. NPI records indicate a total of 6,798 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is medical specialty of which 73 are registered as females, 82 registered as males and 6,643 are organizations.

261QM2500X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Ambulatory Health Care Facilities providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org