152WC0802X Taxonomy Code - Optometrist Corneal and Contact Management



SpecializationCorneal and Contact Management
GroupingEye and Vision Services Providers
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionThe professional activities performed by an Optometrist related to the fitting of contact lenses to an eye, ongoing evaluation of the cornea's ability to sustain successful contact lens wear, and treatment of any external eye or corneal condition which can affect contact lens wear.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
41 - Optometry
NotesSource: American Optometric Association [1/1/2009: added definition, added source]
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 21.0 - January 2021

The code 152WC0802X is the health care provider taxonomy code for optometrist grouped under eye and vision services providers with a specialization in corneal and contact management. NPI records indicate a total of 4,200 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is corneal and contact management of which 952 are registered as females, 1,960 registered as males and 1,288 are organizations.

152WC0802X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Eye and Vision Services Providers providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org