Taxonomy Code 104100000X
Social Worker

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Behavioral Health & Social Service Providers
Classification:Social Worker
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:A social worker is a person who is qualified by a Social Work degree, and licensed, certified or registered by the state as a social worker to practice within the scope of that license. A social worker provides assistance and counseling to clients and their families who are dealing with social, emotional and environmental problems. Social work services may be rendered to individuals, families, groups, and the public.
Notes:Source: National Association of Social Workers, 2009 [7/1/2009: definition modified]
Version:NUCC Provider Taxonomy Version 23.1
Last Updated:July 31, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
85% Female
15% Male
100% Individual Providers (136298)0% Medical Organizations (6,035)85% Female Providers (115571)15% Male Providers (20727)

The code 104100000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for social worker grouped under behavioral health & social service providers. NPI records indicate a total of 142,333 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is social worker of which 115,571 are registered as females, 20,727 registered as males and 6,035 are organizations.

104100000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
1041C0700XSocial WorkerClinical
1041S0200XSocial WorkerSchool

Social Worker Health Care Providers by State

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit