2080P0204X Taxonomy Code - Pediatrics Pediatric Emergency Medicine



SpecializationPediatric Emergency Medicine
GroupingAllopathic & Osteopathic Physicians
LevelLevel III - Area of Specialization
DefinitionA pediatrician who has special qualifications to manage emergencies in infants and children.
Medicare Specialty Code Medicare Specialty Code Crosswalk
Health care providers and suppliers who are eligible to enroll in Medicare can use this crosswalk that links the taxonomy code with its appropriate medicare specialty code.
37 - Physician/Pediatric Medicine
NotesSource: American Board of Medical Specialties, 2007. www.abms.org [7/1/2007: definition added, source added] Additional Resources: American Board of Pediatrics, 2007. http://www.abp.org/. Board certification for Medical Doctors (MDs) is provided by the American Board of Pediatrics.
VersionNCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1 - January 2021

The code 2080P0204X is the health care provider taxonomy code for pediatrics grouped under allopathic & osteopathic physicians with a specialization in pediatric emergency medicine. NPI records indicate a total of 3,645 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is pediatric emergency medicine of which 2,083 are registered as females, 1,403 registered as males and 159 are organizations.

2080P0204X is a level III taxonomy code "area of specialization" used to classify a health care provider that chooses to pracice specific services. For instance, the area of specialization of Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians providers is determined by the Subspecialty Certificates issued by the different national boards. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2020 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit nucc.org