Taxonomy Code 171W00000X

Taxonomy Code Details

Taxonomy Code
Grouping:Other Service Providers
Code Level:Level II - Classification
Definition:A person who contracts to supply certain materials or do certain work for a stipulated sum; esp., one whose business is contracting work in any of the building trades. For purposes of the taxonomy, a person who contracts to complete home repairs or modifications to accommodate a health condition (e.g. wheelchair ramp, kitchen counter lowering).
Notes:Source: Websters New World Dictionary of the American Language, Second College Edition, William Collins + World Publishing Co., Inc., New York: 1974, p. 308
Version:NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 23.0
Last Updated:January 01, 2023
100% Individuals
0% Organizations
73% Female
27% Male
100% Individual Providers (8221)0% Medical Organizations (1,467)73% Female Providers (5984)27% Male Providers (2237)

The code 171W00000X is the health care provider taxonomy code for contractor grouped under other service providers. NPI records indicate a total of 9,688 registered providers whose primary or secondary taxonomy code is contractor of which 5,984 are registered as females, 2,237 registered as males and 1,467 are organizations.

171W00000X is a Level II - Classification taxonomy code used to describe a health care provider service or occupation related to the Provider Grouping. Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care provider. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

View Providers

Level I Taxonomy Codes

Similar Taxonomy Codes

Code Classification Specialization
171WH0202XContractorHome Modifications
171WV0202XContractorVehicle Modifications

The Health Care Providers Taxonomy Code dataset is © Copyright 2022 of the American Medical Association. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

The taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. For additional information visit